1973 - First worship service as the Thai Community Church in Hollywood, California. The Rev. Soon II Kim was senior pastor and Rev. Prachuab Dechawan associate pastor.  Services were held at Mt. Hollywood Congregational Church.
1981 -  Rev. Prachuab Dechawan was installed as full time pastor and the church moved its membership to the Presbytery of the Pacific.  
1988 -  Moved  to First Presbyterian Church in El Monte and shared their facility, under the jurisdiction of the Presbytery of San Gabriel.  The church changed its name to "First Thai Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A."
1995  -  Purchased an existing church in Covina, California and relocated to the current location at 1047 N. Barranca Ave, Covina, CA  91722.  
2004 - Rev. Thanit Osiripaibul was installed as a co-pastor
2005 - Dr. Prachuab Dechawan stepped down from full time pastor to pursue pastoral care for the young adults and youth group within our church.
2006 - Dr. Prachuab Dechawan retires after 33 years of service and Rev. Thanit Osiripaibul becomes Solo Pastor
2009 - Rev. Thanit Osiripaibul  resigns as pastor.  Congregation voted to concur with his 3rd request to resign.
2009 - Pastor Nominating Committee established to search for a new pastor.  Dr. Boonratna Boayen served as Temporary Supply Pastor.
2011 - Rev. Chaluay Ruangchan becomes Interim Pastor,
2014 -  Rev. Peter Tan-Gatue becomes new Pastor after a five year search by the Pastor Nominating Committee.
2019 - Changed name to Praise Community Church.
 Pastor:  Rev. Peter Tan-Gatue
Rev. Peter Tan-Gatue became our pastor as of December 8, 2014.  Prior to his call to ministry, Peter attended college at the University of the Philippines and for his MBA at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois.  After 15 years of experience in the business and financial field, he pursued and earned his Master of Divinity degree at Fuller Theological Seminary in 2005 in Pasadena, California.  He prepared for ministry in the Presbyterian Church (USA) and received ordination in his first ministry call as Chaplain for Mission Hospice in South Pasadena in 2007.  He moved on to Lexington, Kentucky in 2010 where he served as Chaplain at St. Joseph Hospital while studying for his doctorate in Biblical Studies (New Testament) at Asbury Theological Seminary in Wilmore, Kentucky.  He is in  the dissertation phase of his doctorate program.  His wife, Jill, a native of Minnesota, is also a Fuller Theological Seminary graduate (Marriage and Family Therapy) and currently has her own private therapy practice.


Elders - 2019 (Session)

1.  Siriwan Osiripaibul - Clerk of Session (2018-2020 2nd term)
2.  Nonn Rachkeeree   (2019-2021 2nd term)
3.  Pratoum Pradit   (2017-2019 2nd term)
4.  Somsak Poolperm   (2017-2019 2nd term)
5.  Mark Noisiri (2019-2021 1st term)
6.  Wanpen Doungnetre   (2018-2020) 1st term)

Board of Deacons  -  2019

1.  Jareerat "Sunny" Suriya   (2019-2021 2nd term)
2.  Joseph Toongkamani (2019-2020 1st term)
3.  Tanya Loharun (2019-2021 1st term)
4.  Justin Phukunhaphan  (2017-2019 2nd term)
5.  Pacharinee Poolperm  (2017-2019 2nd term)
6.  Papharee Daengruean  (2018-2020 2nd term)
7.  Jureerat Svetasobhana (2019-2021 1st term)